top of page

July 2020 Instagram posts


JULY 3, 2020

Booked!!! 🇦🇺✈️🇺🇸 Let's get this show on the road [literally]. 🚐


 


JULY 5, 2020

I said goodbye to the Australian beach today, my last visit before boarding a one-way flight next week. ⏲ It's so hard closing chapters in life, but also exciting knowing a fresh new page is waiting to be explored! 📚


 


JULY 9, 2020

One of very few possessions making the cut on my flight and in my van. ✂️ This yoga mat is a work of ART and I get lost in its incredible detail every day! ✨🧘🏻‍♀️🤍 28 hours 'til departure... 🇦🇺✈️🇺🇸 @sallymustang @mitch.gobel


 


JULY 14, 2020

"So Brenda, what is it you're looking for in a van?" 🤷🏻‍♀️


"Aw thanks so much for asking, Brenda! These are my priorities: 📝


1) I need to be able to S T A N D. Being a compact 5'3", that's not a hard goal to reach. 📏


2) Less than 150,000 miles and newer than 1995 to avoid as much maintenance as possible. 🛠


3) Less than $15,000 to keep the total conversion budget under $20k. 💰


4) Able to take some back roads. ⛰ 4WD not necessary but would be cool. I don't want to be restricted in what adventures I can go on, OR get stuck regularly (obvi).


5) Blend in almost anywhere. 🐼 Cargo vans are starting to be recognized as homes now, so leaning toward a conversion van that would look stealth in any carpark or neighborhood. It wouldn't attract attention like most bigger vehicles (I think).


6) Not a Dodge - I'd never hear the end of it from my dad! 😂


7) Rust free (as much as possible) to avoid heaps of initial work to remove it.


8) It's gotta be cute! 💁🏻‍♀️ This is my home and I want to be proud of it. 2.5 years ago when I was planning this adventure, I wanted a sleek, modern, classy build. Now, I'm leaning toward a more 'hippy', rustic, refurbished vibe. 🤎 Thus: conversion van rather than cargo."


"Wow, Brenda, that sounds awesome! Can't wait to see what you find..." 🤸🏻‍♀️


 


JULY 15, 2020

Signed. 📝 Sealed. 💰 Delivered. 🗝


Things just got REAL real and I couldn't be more excited! 😃 Today, I purchased my first car and my first home, all in one fell swoop. 💪🏾


I'll introduce you to Copper much more over the next few months, but let's just say he ticks all the boxes!


🚐 2012 Ford E350 (not sure whyyy I say "3 5 hundred" every.single.time 🤦🏻‍♀️) Super Duty XLT - i.e. a beast! 🦕

🛣 Only 46,000 miles!

💰 Listed at $15,000 (which was absolutely reasonable) but I figured I'd try my hand at the negotiating game. I rocked up with a $12k cashier's check made out to the dealer's name, and that is the number we shook hands on. 🤯🏆🙌🏾 (followed IMMEDIATELY by hand sanitizer)

👩🏻‍🦽It's been custom built for disabled travelers. The body is lifted three inches off the frame so they could drop the middle section of the floor down five inches to allow wheelchair access. This makes it perfect standing height for lil ol' me!

🛠 Only "mandatory" immediate repairs are replacing the rear driver-side tire rim, removing the wheelchair lift and automatic sliding door (Ford hardware required so I can even manually open it), and sanding and repainting the high top because the clear coat is peeling off. No worries at all!


So, here we go... racing the clock to go pick up my little man STAT!! 🐶


 


JULY 16, 2020





Day #1: DEMO DAY! 👷🏻‍♀️


Swipe ⏩ for today's after & before progress on Copper! 🛠 My back aches. My hands are swollen. My feet are stained black. But my heart is increasingly excited!!!


 

JULY 17, 2020

Day #2: TAPE & LIFT


I spent the morning taping out the floorplan for my future home so we can sort out the wiring and plumbing plans. 📏 The funny bit is: I've been crafting my dream layout for 2.5 years, drafting up DOZENS of arrangements, but always landing back on the same one (which is what MOST vanlifers do - bed in back, kitchen on far wall - because it just makes heaps of sense!). But the day I bought Copper alllllllll those plans changed, almost 100%. And I'm 100% okay with that! (mainly 'cause it gets me away from "what everyone else does" which the rebel, choleric side of me LOVES!)


The afternoon was spent removing the [huuundreds of pounds] wheelchair lift and all its associated mechanics, hydraulics, wiring, locks, brackets, etc. etc. 🤪 Had to disconnect the engine battery. Then the van wouldn't shift into gear because we couldn't close the sliding door, so we had to override that safety feature, etc. Joys of remodels! 😅


But it's all gone now, ready to weigh again tomorrow! Wonder how much of his 7,250 pounds Copper has lost already! ⚖️


 

JULY 19, 2020

Day #3: SAND, INSULATE, RIBS! 🍖


Spent the morning changing the rear tire out and sanding the peeling clear coat off the fiberglass topper. It looks so much better already! ✨ Paint to come next week...


And this afternoon I stuffed EVERY hole I could find with insulation - both fiberglass and spray foam. It's so comforting that the walls sound SOLID when you knock on them now! 🔥 Then I screwed in some wood "ribs" that we can start connecting the Reflectix and plywood to tomorrow.


Messing up and learning as I go... 🤓


 


JULY 20, 2020

Day #4: GOING 3D! 🏗


My dad's an incredible, self-taught handyman. 👷‍♂️ He turned a hobby of loving to work with his hands, into owning a cabinetry business, into now managing the multiple facilities of one of Portland's highest-rated autobody shops. He's my secret weapon!! 🔫


He woke up at 3:30a today with the best idea for my bed: make the back section removable so I can put a bike inside if/when I want. 🤯 A bike was the onnnne thing I wish I could store, but didn't want to make a high-set bed JUST for the occasional bike ride. 🚲


I'll admit: Dad and I argued yesterday. 😔 I am not the easiest person to work with - when I have my mind made up on something, I struggle to listen to other options. Buuut after a few big hugs today, we agreed that I'll own the "what" I want in the van, and Dad'll own the "how" we get it there. And with that mindset, today went swimmingly. More trust, less questioning! 💛



 

JULY 21, 2020

Day #5: SECURE BED FRAME 🛏


Today we glued and pinned the under-bed walls into place, and added several little details like an access panel to the AirCon/heat unit, a little storage cubby under my pillow area, a power outlet in the garage AND a custom curtain track (so they don't get wedged frustratingly between the bed and wall every day 🧠). We also added some foam board insulation behind the flat walls (which are rare in a van!) and I made a portable shower out of a weed sprayer (post on this to come shortly). 🛀


 

JULY 22, 2020

Day #6: BED PLATFORM


We added the top layer to the entire bed structure and storage area, including some custom cubbies and a flip-up couch/lounge option that doubles as extra "garage" storage space! 🚲


 

JULY 23, 2020

Day #7: ELECTRIC TUNNEL & KITCHEN 101


We've decided about 83% of our time is spent plotting, planning, brainstorming, considering every little detail of how each 1/4 inch of space or wood will affect the inch next to it. 🤯 Working with tiny space (that NO PART of is straight or level), you can't just throw stuff together and hope it works out (my typical method in life 💁🏻‍♀️), you have to be verrrry thoughtful about whether the plywood is strong enough to support the tiles' weight, and that the trim around the tile will require x-amount of space. The fridge needs to have breathing room behind it, but also be secure so it won't rattle when I drive. The electric wiring needs space to run along the floor, and would be nice to have a tunnel to easily feed cables through should my needs ever change (check!), etc. etc. etc. Lots of considerations!


Then 14% of the day is actually doing the WORK! 🛠


And 3% is cleanup. 🧹


 

JULY 24, 2020

Day #8: CHANGE OF PLANS


I did a little reconfiguring today after feeling the space in 3D. There is SO much more room in the van than I'd imagined so we decided to move my 30 gallon fresh water tank inside rather than mounting it underneath (which would take more effort, money, and consistent consciousness of outdoor temperatures). It's actually changed absolutely nothing about my floorplan space - win, win, win! 🏆 And as fate would have it, the 200AH battery I ordered will fit PERFECTLY beside the water tank (with a wall between, obvi ⚡️) - meant to be!


Also added insulation to the "hallway" so I'll hop (roll) out of bed onto a warmer floor for my toesies. 🔥


I really need to finalize decisions on the wall and floor material so we can move forward (i.e. upward). But tomorrow we're cutting the first hole in the roof for my air vent! 💨


 


JULY 25, 2020

Day #9: WINE RACK 🍾🍷✨


Today we added the roof vent 💨 and several little details to the areas we’ve already “finished” (far from done), such as securing the water tank, boxing in the wheel well, adding the hinge to the bed, ANNNNNNNND someone (me!!! 🙋🏻‍♀️) made a super swanky WINE RACK (lower right corner of photo) that'll hold two bottles, right above the insulated heater duct, which I'd assumed would be dead space. But NOPE, making the most of every inch of Copper!


My craftsmanship is absolutely apprentice level, but I'm getting better each day and am only trusted with the areas that will be covered up. 😂 Dad's the experienced and perfectionist player on our team! 💛


 

JULY 26, 2020

Day #10: CEILING RIBS


We finished up some bits and bobs on the first layer (bed/garage/WINE RACK) today then started on the ceiling. After brainstorming in Home Depot for a couple hours about how to make the walls and roof LOOK like shiplap without the price and rigidness of shiplap, we committed to an interesting hack... Stay tuned!


 

JULY 27, 2020

Day #11: CEILING PANELS


This morning I sanded the entire base structure so I can start painting it tomorrow. 🖌️


Then I insulated the ceiling with foam board, and we started installing the decorative paneling. The intent is to LOOK like shiplap, but use more flexible materials to bend with the curves of the van. AND it's about 1/3 the price (ANNND we put some of Copper's original wood back in, which is a nice tribute to his first eight years of life). We'll keep moving this pattern down the curve of the ceiling, then make the "stripes" go vertical on the wall area. 🏡


Oh, I also did some shopping for DECOR stuff, which has me sooo excited!!! 🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️ Love interior design!


 

JULY 28, 2020

Day #12: PAINT (/prime)


We spent the morning finishing the ceiling panels, then I painted the entire afternoon! It'll need another coat, but feeling fresh and airy already. 🤍


 

JULY 29, 2020

Day #13: SHELVES


Today I grinned at my dad and said, "Papa, you make all my dreams come true!" 💛 I can tell him any crazy design idea I have, he ponders every possible way to make it reality, then he does! ✨


My goals for the van are to keep it open, light, cozy, and pretty! I care more about decor than storage - a relaxing home brings me happiness, stuff doesn't. 🚮


My dad's always said, "The more money you make, the more you spend." 💸 And, "The bigger the house, the more stuff you buy to fill it." 🗑️ So giving myself less storage means there's less room to accumulate JUNK. 🏆


And I have big dreams for these little shelves - just you wait! 🌿



 


JULY 31, 2020

Day #14: BACK SHELF AND LEFT WALL


No two pieces are the same in a van. None! Every single cut and angle and position is different. Even "mirrored" sides of the van - they're different. No idea why!! Just to make this project more fun, I reckon. 😉


But Copper's now joined left-to-right and top-to-bottom! ✔️✔️


96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page